

# Wittenberg University Honors Convocation

April 5, 2024, Weaver Chapel

#### The Lillian C. Franklin Diversity Awards The Broadwell Chinn Award The Martin Luther King Jr. Awards

Casey L. Gill, Vice P e iden fo S1 den De elopmen and Dean of S1 den.

#### The Heimtraut Dietrich Award

The Rev. Tracy L. Paschke-Johannes, The Re . Da id P.g D T/T1 21 Tf 20 1 Tc 20 0

# P e iden ial Schola

Named for each of Wittenberg's 14 former presidents, the Presidential Scholars are the members of the junior class who have maintained the highest academic standing in their class through the preceding ve semesters at Wittenberg.

> J. Ezra Keller Scholarship Kendall A. Black

Samuel P. Sprecher Scholarship

Harper A. Crews

#### John B. Helwig Scholarship

Mackenzie E. Hessick

Samuel Alfred Ort Scholarship A

# DEPARTMENTAL AND PROGRAM AWARDS

#### A Depa men

**The Ralston C. Thompson Awards** were established in honor of the late Ralston Thompson, professor of art (1941-1970). These awards are granted by the art department to students who demonstrate exceptional promise in art.

Sydney A. Striker, Francesca K. Heidinger

**The Wittenberg Guild Awards** are given annually from a fund established by The Wittenberg Guild. These awards are granted by the art department to students who demonstrate exceptional promise in art.

Noelle E. Underwood, Gabby M. Conaway

**The S. Paul & Clara M. Weaver Endowed Scholarship** was funded through a generous gift in loving memory of S. Paul Weaver by his wife Clara M. Weaver, Columbus, Ohio, to provide nancial assistance to sophomores, juniors, or seniors who are either art majors or education majors with a desire to teach art.

Maddy E. Rose, Hanna J. Haddix

#### Biological and En i onmen al Science Depa men

**The Faculty Award for Outstanding Achievement in Biology** is given by the faculty of the department in recognition of seniors who have had outstanding achievement and demonstrate strong potential in biology.

Zoe E. Chirumbolo McKee, Tanner E. Leach, Hannah L. Marcin

**The Emmett Bodenberg Award for Outstanding Achievement in Environmental Biology,** named to honor the late professor of biology (1931-1968), is given to the junior or senior students who have excelled in and demonstrated commitment to this eld of study.

Audrey L. Heiser, Michael K. Vrbanac

**The Rachel Ianni Award for Excellence in Peer Mentoring** was established in memory of 2008 graduate Rachel Ianni (1986-2013). A biology major and marine science minor, Rachel served as a peer mentor for three years in the biology department, where she inspired fellow students with her knowledge of the eld, passion for research, love of "good science," and joie de vivre.

Maria F. Rodriguez

**Biology and Environmental Science Senior Fellows** recognizes outstanding junior biology and environmental science majors who are model representatives of both the department and the University.

Kendall A. Black, Dimitri A. Gonzalez, Shayne K. Harris, Grace Koperna

## Biochemi /Molea la Biolog P og am

The Faculty Award for Outstanding Achievement in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology is given in recognition of seniors with exceptional achievement and strong potential in biochemistry

# American Chemical Society Award for Undergraduate

Achievement in Biochemistry or Chemical Biology recognizes a graduating senior who displays a signi cant aptitude for biochemistry or chemical biology. The individual will have demonstrated excellence in a combination of coursework, research, service to the program, and a desire to pursue a career in biochemistry or chemical biology.

Branden B. Nicholas

# Br, ine, & Economic Depa men

The Tau Pi Phi Award is given to the graduating business major who combines the highe

#### The William I. and Carol J. Goettman Pre-Medical Student Award

is given to an outstanding scholar athlete who has successfully completed a pre-medical course of study at Wittenberg with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher, who has been accepted to and/or is enrolled in medical school, and who, while an undergraduate, has participated in intercollegiate athletics.

Katie G. Wisniewski

#### Hi o Depa men

**The ATO - Paul F. Bloomhardt Award,** established in honor of the late Paul F. Bloomhardt, professor of history and biography (1925-1956), is awarded to outstanding junior history majors.

Bailey L. Drews, Allie J. Miller, Sarah E. Tagg

**The Margaret S. Ermarth Award**, established in honor of the late Margaret Sittler Ermarth, professor of history (1953-1974), is awarded to outstanding senior history majors.

Racheal A. Vargo, Emma M. Wilson

## In e collegia e A hle ic P og am

**The North Coast Athletic Conference Student-Athlete Award** recognizes a student who has performed with distinction both in the classroom and on the playing eld.

Meghan P. Frazier, Conor P. O'Malley

## Ma hema ic, and Comp e Science Depa men

**The Paul Hessler Award,** established in memory of Paul Hessler, a member of the mathematics faculty at Wittenberg (1969-1978), is awarded to a junior or senior major for outstanding achievrg 7 (o)1.6 (r f)4.5 (o)1.6 (r o)6.8 (u)4)(

# Nt , ing Depa men

The David and Mary Benfer Scholarship for

**in Nursing** was established in 2018 in honor of David and Mary's siblings whose careers and lives have been dedicated to serving and caring for others. The scholarship recognizes an outstanding junior nursing student based on academic merit, leadership, and potential in the eld of nursing.

Jenna R. Hallett, Mazie K. Reece

The Mary J. Dwyer Memf Dd [1] ( 1) 30 4 () 86 (27) 56 () er Melen-U (26) () 4. () 75 (2) 0

ence

# P, cholog Depa men

**The Bethlehem Steel Award** has been established to honor outstanding senior students in psychology.

M.K. Smith

**Meagan Toothman Scholarship** is named for Meagan because she represented the best of Wittenberg as a scholar-athlete, a beloved sister in her sorority, and a friend to many. Me2ah (.)y39 (e)0.7 (l)2.9 (h)wlef Wittenber Mhhtt on

Students are normally elected as seniors or, in special cases, as juniors. They must be majoring in one of the liberal arts or sciences, have a high grade point average, have taken a variety of courses across the liberal arts spectrum, and have demonstrated a knowledge of mathematics and a foreign language appropriate to a liberal arts education.

Т

# THE COPELAND COMMUNITY SERVICE AND SOCIAL JUSTICE AWARD

The Copeland Community Service and Social Justice Award recognizes a student who demonstrates engaged citizenship in the Greater Spring eld community. It is not merely the student's hours of service, but the ability to think critically about di cult societal issues and the willingness to work to confront these issues with compassion and commitment that is most important.

## THE ROSE AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN COMMUNITY PARTNERSHIP

The Rose Award for Excellence in Community Partnership recognizes a member of the Greater Spring eld community who serves as an exceptional co-educator for students. They help students bloom into well-informed, engaged, and productive citizens, and they make a signi cant di erence in the community. The recipient is selected based on their level of investment in the development of students as well as their sustained commitment and innovative approach of connecting with the University.

# **MISSION STATEMENT**

<u>, 1</u> 、· 、、· · . . . . . . . · , 、 、 · . . . . 、 、 、 、 、 、 、 . . . . .... . .... L . . . . ` . . . , . **`** • • • , . . **,** . . . . . , . ,、 .

